Go Back   WhatIsMyIP.comŽ Forum > How do I... > Change My IP Address

Notices

Change My IP Address Tips on how to change your IP address

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2009, 01:53 AM   #1
OfficialGenius
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
OfficialGenius is on a distinguished road
Default How do you change your IP address under Optimum Online?-PLEASE HELP!

ISP: Optimum Online
I use Cable.

I have 2 laptops, 1 apple and 1 windows VISTA along with an apple airport/router for a wireless connection. Everything was installed from the MAIN laptop which is the Apple-Mac.

How can I change my IP address?




UPDATE: I did hear about turning off your modem for 48 hours and turning it back on but that's IF your connected from the modem. I'm connected wireless using a MAC/Apple airport/router. They also told me another way is to get a new modem box since that will give you a different MAC address but the question is will that give me a different IP address while I'm still connected wireless to the same router?



Thank You
OfficialGenius is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 04:38 PM   #2
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

It really depends on how Optimum assigns their IP addresses. If they assign them by MAC, then getting a new MAC should get you a new IP. However, if they assign based on the MAC that's assigned to the cable modem then no matter what devices you change, until you change the modem, your IP will probably remain the same.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 05:02 PM   #3
OfficialGenius
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
OfficialGenius is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks! This is what my friend told me so what do you think?

If you can get a new IP by unplugging for 48 hours, it means you are dynamic. Which means you go into your router setup and find the WAN MAC address. Change the very last 2 pairs. Save the change. Reboot the MODEM. Not the router. NEW IP!

Since apple is a nearly non-existent platform, hardly anyone knows how to tweak or adjust them. Just not enough units for hackers to bother with. You find your WAN MAC, and you are good to go.
OfficialGenius is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 09:52 AM   #4
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Yes...you are correct. By changing the MAC address, your ISP will most likely see you as a "new" user and assign a new IP.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 02:26 PM   #5
OfficialGenius
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
OfficialGenius is on a distinguished road
Default

I haven't messed around with it since I don't want to mess up anything but here are my options

Last edited by wimiadmin; 07-19-2017 at 02:18 PM.
OfficialGenius is offline  
Old 08-07-2009, 02:38 PM   #6
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

I don't see any options that will allow you to edit the mac address. I'm not surprised really.....as a mac address is sort of hard coded to each network device and not dynamic like an IP address is.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 AM.


What Is My IP

Join WhatIsMyIP.com on Facebook Follow WIMI on Twitter

Need IP address location detection service? Get it from IP2Location.com now.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - WhatIsMyIP.comŽ