Go Back   WhatIsMyIP.com® Forum > How do I... > Change My IP Address

Notices

Change My IP Address Tips on how to change your IP address

Closed Thread

Old 03-18-2011, 02:37 PM   #1
td.software

td.software is on a distinguished road
Default How do I change my IP Address (mobile vs. at home)?

Hi,

I'm new to this so I'm sorry if I'm asking redundant questions. I did try and look through the forums to find answers, first, but couldn't so I figured I'd post.

I know that IP spoofing exists but I don't know the technicalities of how to make it happen or how it works.

I have 2 different ISPs that I use... One is at home (my cable company) and the other is my mobile phone service provider. If I'm at home I use the cable network and if I'm on the road I use the mobile network.

Some questions...

1) Given that the ISP has an IP address, when I change an IP address, am I making it appear as if it's my ISP's IP address that's different? Or, does that IP address always stay the same and can never be changed?

2) If I can change my IP address, regardless of which ISP I use, can I make it always appear the same, so that no matter what ISP I use, it always looks like I'm using the same IP address?

3) If I change my IP address, can I control what address I use or is it assigned by the software I use to do it?

Thanks
Old 03-19-2011, 05:40 PM   #2
AboveTheLogic
Super Moderator

AboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of light

Quote:
Originally Posted by td.software View Post
1) Given that the ISP has an IP address, when I change an IP address, am I making it appear as if it's my ISP's IP address that's different? Or, does that IP address always stay the same and can never be changed?