Go Back   WhatIsMyIP.comŽ Forum > IP and Network Questions > Networking Questions

Notices

Networking Questions Any questions about network setup, management, etc. should be posted here.

Closed Thread

Old 08-17-2016, 04:31 PM   #1
Kev

Kev is on a distinguished road
Post Implementing a network

Hi there,

I am a new student in IT and I'm kind of struggling with network implementation. here's the deal:

Me and my group have to implement a network between two building on the company's premises but I think after hours of work we don't really know where to start (1st year BscIT). The building specifications of each building are:
Building 1:
It has three floors.
Each floor has 50 users.
Each floor should have a server.
There should be Wi-Fi for at least 10 users on each floor.

Building 2:
It has four floors.
Each floor has 40 users.
Each floor should have a server.
There should be Wi-Fi for at least 10 users on each floor.

We started with a DHCP server but sadly we cannot find examples on the internet as for the IP addressing scheme, configuring routers that may suit this scenario or the physical topology of such.

I would be more than grateful if you could advise me and sharing some of your knowledge.
Old 08-17-2016, 04:45 PM   #2
wimiadmin
Administrator

wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold

Hi Kev,

This is a great scenario, thanks for posting.

We won't do your homework for you, but we'll certainly offer advice where we can help.

Building 1 would need a total of 183 available IP addresses. (50 users * 3 floors (150) + 3 servers (3) + 10 wifi per floor (30).

Building 2 would need a total of 204 avaialable IP addresses. (40 users * 4 floors (160) + 4 servers (4) + 10 wifi per floor (40).