Go Back   WhatIsMyIP.comŽ Forum > IP and Network Questions > IP Questions

Notices

IP Questions Post all of your general IP related questions here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2009, 04:03 PM   #1
silverbear7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
silverbear7 is on a distinguished road
Default Setting up a DVR - external IP problems

Hello, everyone.

I've just set up a standalone DVR, and while I can see it from any computer on the network, I'm having some trouble setting up remote access.

I can view the video fine from any computer on the network, but any attempt to connect to it from the outside (i.e. proxy/TOR) fails with a "timeout" error.

The first suggestion was "Your ISP may be blocking Port 80", so I set up the DVR's server to use port 8080. The router is configured to forward port 8080 to 192.168.1.220 (the DVR's IP). It's also configured to place 192.168.1.220 in the DMZ.

Result: no change.

Next step, DynDNS. Got it set up, specified DDNS settings in the DVR and the router... no change. Using domainname.dvrdng.org or domainname.dvrdng.org:8080 instead of 99.99.99.99 (my external IP) makes no difference.

What am I doing wrong?
Is there a setting I'm missing?
Please help... thanks!

-----------------------------------------

DVR Info:

Aposonic A-S1601R4
IP: 192.168.1.220
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DNS 1: 168.95.1.1
DNS 2: 168.95.192.1
Web Page Port: 8080
RTSP Port: 554
RTP Start Port: 1024
RTP End Port: 10000

Router Info:

Linksys WRT-54G
Port Forwarding:
80 > 192.168.1.220
8080 > 192.168.1.220
DMZ: Enabled
DMZ Host IP Address: 192.168.1.220
silverbear7 is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 04:34 PM   #2
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Wow. I'm just as confused as you are as to why this isn't working.

With the .220 in the DMZ, the DVR should be wide open and not blocked by the router.

I did see other ports listed. RTSP 554 and RTP 1024-10000.

Perhaps you should take the .220 out of the DMZ and forward those ports to .220 and see if that works.

I've got a DVR on my network and had to forward 2 ports...the web port and the admin port. If I didn't forward the admin port, it didn't work.

I saw the IP under your profile (only admins/mods can see this) and attempted to connect to both 80 and 8080 with no luck. So it's not because you're trying to access it from your network even though you're using a proxy.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 11:31 PM   #3
AboveTheLogic
Super Moderator
 
AboveTheLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 578
AboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Some ISPs are known to block port 80 AND port 8080...
AboveTheLogic is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 05:43 AM   #4
Rckstr09
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Rckstr09 is on a distinguished road
Default Setting up a DVR - external IP problems

Both port 80 and 8080 wont work most times and is blocked. I just figured out my stand alone dvr about a week ago. Use a high port number like 4590 that worked for me. When I port forwarded I kept my internal port as 80 but my external port was 4590.
Also what I noticed with my dvr that boggled my head was that even though I would receive a time-out error message on some computers out side my network others would not and the software would download onto my computer outside my network in order to view my remote dvr. However if I preloaded the software on the computer that gave me time out errors I could view my cameras no problem outside of the network using my high port number.
I don't understand why your RTP port end is so high either I kept mine the same as my start and I had no problems. I would of thought that it would cause some conflicts because your start is 1024 so it might conflict with port 8080 since you are ending your port at 10000. Just what i think but do try a higher port number for your web page port and it should work.--- hope this info helps.
Rckstr09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 AM.


What Is My IP

Join WhatIsMyIP.com on Facebook Follow WIMI on Twitter

Need IP address location detection service? Get it from IP2Location.com now.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - WhatIsMyIP.comŽ