Go Back   WhatIsMyIP.comŪ Forum > IP and Network Questions > IP Questions

Notices

IP Questions Post all of your general IP related questions here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2009, 03:06 PM   #1
cannedheat26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
cannedheat26 is on a distinguished road
Default I cannot Ping a specific IP address from my PC..

I am trying to ping an IP address from my PC but al packages are lost. I tried a ping from a website (ping.eu) and there is no problem, all packages return correctly.

I have spoken to the administrator of the address I'm trying to establish the connection with and they say everything is working OK and that my IP address is not blocked or anything.

I also tried to perform a Telnet to a especific port provided by them I a canīt make a connection.

Thanks for the help
cannedheat26 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 10:26 PM   #2
AboveTheLogic
Super Moderator
 
AboveTheLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 727
AboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of lightAboveTheLogic is a glorious beacon of light
Default

hmm, hard to guess what the problem is... but maybe their firewall is set to not reply to ping requests
AboveTheLogic is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 11:41 PM   #3
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pigeon Forge, TN
Posts: 1,511
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

That was going to be my guess as well....that they have pings disabled.

Also, your outgoing network might not allow the telnet connection.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 01:20 AM   #4
clanmills
Super Moderator
 
clanmills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 219
clanmills has a spectacular aura aboutclanmills has a spectacular aura aboutclanmills has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to clanmills Send a message via Skype™ to clanmills
Default

It's interesting that you can ping from ping.eu - so the target's alive and able to accept a ping.

There must be something between your machine and the target. You could try traceroute (on mac/unix) tracert.exe (on Windows) to see where you're being blocked.
Code:
c:\>tracert clanmills.com
Tracing route to clanmills.com [67.55.49.64]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms     2 ms  belkin [192.168.2.1]
  2    37 ms    36 ms    36 ms  h-64-105-34-1.snvacaid.dynamic.covad.net [64.105.34.1]
  3    36 ms    36 ms    36 ms  192.168.21.5
  4   224 ms   220 ms   205 ms  ge-6-21.car1.sanjose1.level3.net [63.209.0.173]
  5    38 ms    38 ms    37 ms  ae-33-89.car3.sanjose1.level3.net [4.68.18.133]
  6    49 ms    39 ms    40 ms  cogent-comm.car3.sanjose1.level3.net [4.68.110.138]
  7    41 ms    37 ms    37 ms  te4-1.mpd01.sjc04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.105]
  8    40 ms    38 ms    39 ms  te8-2.mpd01.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2.165]
  9    82 ms    81 ms    82 ms  te2-1.mpd01.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.37]
 10   107 ms    97 ms    95 ms  te8-2.ccr01.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.7.186]
 11   111 ms   112 ms   112 ms  te2-3.ccr02.yyz02.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.214]
 12   111 ms   112 ms   112 ms  38.117.84.28
 13   114 ms   111 ms   121 ms  66.49.255.6
 14   112 ms   113 ms   119 ms  host170.canaca.com [67.55.49.64]

Trace complete.
c:\>
If tracert is successful, then you'll have to find an available port on which to communicate (ftp/http or whatever) and I've always found nmap to useful in sniffing to see which ports are available on any target machine. Of course if your route is blocked, nmap can't tell you anything! So use tracert before messing with nmap. tracert's on most machines by default. You'll have to google and download nmap.
clanmills is offline  
Old 05-13-2009, 09:45 AM   #5
cannedheat26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
cannedheat26 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for replying...

I noticed I didn't give all the information needed. I forgot to mention that last week I did manage to ping and establish a telnet to the specific port and that the people who own address I'm trying to connect with are aware of the problem and assure me that the port is open. So I think the problem resides in my part of the transaction.

Regarding AboveTheLogic and WimiAdmin's answers, I checked that they don't have pings disabled.

I followed Clanmills advice and traced the address (200.44.120.58) and in the first hop i got a timeout. Then in hops 2,3,4 and 5 I got a response. Then from hop 6 on I only got timeouts.

I also tried tracing clanmills.com and only recieved a timeout in the first hop, then teh rest of the trace finished normally.

I really don't know how to interpret the test, but I'm assuming that timing out in the first step of the trace means there must be wrong with my connection.

I would also like to know if the problem might have anything to do with my dsl service company.

Thanks again for all the help.

PS: I hope you excuse my terms if they're not correct, I am writing from Venezuela and I have a spanish version of windows so I'm translating everything as I write.
cannedheat26 is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
packages, ping, telnet

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


What Is My IP

Join WhatIsMyIP.com on Facebook Follow WIMI on Twitter

Need IP address location detection service? Get it from IP2Location.com now.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - WhatIsMyIP.comŪ