Go Back   WhatIsMyIP.comŽ Forum > IP and Network Questions > IP Questions

Notices

IP Questions Post all of your general IP related questions here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2009, 09:27 PM   #1
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default Can't access my public IP?!?

Hi all, when I go to whatismyip.com I get it and when I put that IP in browser I can't access..like page not find?!?!?

Any help?!?!

Regards,
Dany
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-22-2009, 09:39 PM   #2
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Part of your problem is that you're behind that IP address already.

The second part of the problem is that if you're not hosting a web site on the computer you're trying to access, you're going to get the "Page Not Found" error.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 03:37 AM   #3
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you for answer, but I have to tell that Im new in this, so can you tell me just quick info if my local IP of router is 192.168.1.1 and if I go to site whatismyip.com to get public IP is that Public IP = Local IP ( 192.168.1.1)? If so how can I change that Public IP = 192.168.1.20?

Maybe this question have no sense, but like I said Im new here



Quote:
Originally Posted by wimiadmin View Post
Part of your problem is that you're behind that IP address already.

The second part of the problem is that if you're not hosting a web site on the computer you're trying to access, you're going to get the "Page Not Found" error.
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 08:40 AM   #4
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Follow these instructions
http://whatismyip.com/faq/how-to-det...ip-address.asp

Then when you pull up ipconfig the IP address in the gateway section is most likely going to be the IP of your router.

The IP of your router is not the same as the IP shown on our home page.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 02:41 PM   #5
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi wimiadmin , thank you for quick answer, but can I send you private massage on this forum?





Quote:
Originally Posted by wimiadmin View Post
Follow these instructions
http://whatismyip.com/faq/how-to-det...ip-address.asp

Then when you pull up ipconfig the IP address in the gateway section is most likely going to be the IP of your router.

The IP of your router is not the same as the IP shown on our home page.
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 02:50 PM   #6
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

We need to keep all questions in the forum. Thanks.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 07:26 AM   #7
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

OK Well Im new when we talk about IP and network, so I have this question, so if you can help me I'll be very very thanks

I buy IP Cam and I want to put it on internet, so that I can view with browser, so here is my situation and please tell me what I'm doing wrong.

My computer:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.146.XX.XX
216.146.XX.XX

IP of Cam I put static and look like this

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.70

so my question is when I go on whatismyip.com I get public IP and is that IP of my:

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

but how can I put public IP to match my IP Cam:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.70


Thank you again if you can help me

Regards,
Dany

Quote:
Originally Posted by wimiadmin View Post
We need to keep all questions in the forum. Thanks.
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 05:05 PM   #8
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

You'll need to find out what port your camera is running on. It might be 80 or 8080. Since you've assigned it a static IP (which is perfect), you'll need to forward the port (80, or 8080, or whatever your cam is using) to the .70 IP of the cam. This way all requests coming to your external IP address via port 80, 8080, etc. will redirect straight to the cam and it should work.

You won't be able to test the external IP theory from behind your router, you'll need to have a friend on a separate network test it for you.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 07:44 PM   #9
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

well dont work

I dont know what Im dong wrong:

my comp:

Ethernet NIC
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.245.23
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.146.35.35
216.146.36.36

My IP Cam:

HTTP port = 80

IP address 192.168.1.70
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Default router 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS 216.146.35.35
Secondary DNS 216.146.36.36

My router - Port forward:

Name IP TCP Port UDP Port Enable
HTTP 192.168.1.70 80 80 Enable

And when I go to my public IP I cant get nothing?!?!?!



Quote:
Originally Posted by wimiadmin View Post
You'll need to find out what port your camera is running on. It might be 80 or 8080. Since you've assigned it a static IP (which is perfect), you'll need to forward the port (80, or 8080, or whatever your cam is using) to the .70 IP of the cam. This way all requests coming to your external IP address via port 80, 8080, etc. will redirect straight to the cam and it should work.

You won't be able to test the external IP theory from behind your router, you'll need to have a friend on a separate network test it for you.
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 07:55 PM   #10
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

ok...first things first.

On your computer, you show an IP of 169.x.x.x...that's an IP the computer gives itself when it cannot connect to the DHCP server. In this case, it looks as though DHCP is disabled. You can either enable DHCP or assign your computer a static IP in the 192.168.1.x range.

Second thing is....you won't be able to access your camera from a public IP from your computer. You are behind the router. Essentially, your router is not going to let you go out to come back in. That's why I said you'll need a friend to help. Or, did you get a friend to help and it's not working from their end?
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:12 PM   #11
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

hi, well yes...my friend helping me now to access to my public IP,but...

I put now this:

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.146.35.35
216.146.36.36

IP Cam:

IP address 192.168.1.70
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Default router 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS 216.146.35.35
Secondary DNS 216.146.36.36


Router port forward:

Name IP TCP Port UDP Port Enable
HTTP 192.168.1.70 80 80 Enable

And same problem...I dont know is this important, but on my router IP Pool Range: 192.168.1.64-192.168.1.240 and my IP Cam is 192.168.1.70 is that problem?! Well since Im new in network maybe this is stupid question

Quote:
Originally Posted by wimiadmin View Post
ok...first things first.

On your computer, you show an IP of 169.x.x.x...that's an IP the computer gives itself when it cannot connect to the DHCP server. In this case, it looks as though DHCP is disabled. You can either enable DHCP or assign your computer a static IP in the 192.168.1.x range.

Second thing is....you won't be able to access your camera from a public IP from your computer. You are behind the router. Essentially, your router is not going to let you go out to come back in. That's why I said you'll need a friend to help. Or, did you get a friend to help and it's not working from their end?
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:38 PM   #12
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

There are no stupid questions. The .70 IP should be fine.

Does your router have an option for DMZ? If it does have that option, put the .70 web cam in the DMZ and see if your friend can access it then?

Let me know the results.

Oh....by the way.....can you access the cam by going to 192.168.1.70? Just want to make sure.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 08:51 PM   #13
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

thank you for your help...well yes locally I can access to my camera panel 192.168.1.70 and work fine

Now I put also:
Enable DMZ
DMZ Host IP Address:192.168.1.70

But he cant get it



Quote:
Originally Posted by wimiadmin View Post
There are no stupid questions. The .70 IP should be fine.

Does your router have an option for DMZ? If it does have that option, put the .70 web cam in the DMZ and see if your friend can access it then?

Let me know the results.

Oh....by the way.....can you access the cam by going to 192.168.1.70? Just want to make sure.
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 09:40 PM   #14
aprotosimaki
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
aprotosimaki is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danysa View Post
hi, well yes...my friend helping me now to access to my public IP,but...

I put now this:

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 216.146.35.35
216.146.36.36

IP Cam:

IP address 192.168.1.70
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Default router 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS 216.146.35.35
Secondary DNS 216.146.36.36


Router port forward:

Name IP TCP Port UDP Port Enable
HTTP 192.168.1.70 80 80 Enable

And same problem...I dont know is this important, but on my router IP Pool Range: 192.168.1.64-192.168.1.240 and my IP Cam is 192.168.1.70 is that problem?! Well since Im new in network maybe this is stupid question
As the previous responder pointed out, the first step is to make sure your camera is actually listening on port 80.

To test this, from your local Windows box can you access the camera via the URL http://192.168.1.70? If not, you need to fix this first.

But if you can access it locally but not remotely, make sure your camera's web-server is not actually redirecting you to https://192.168.1.70. If so, you may have to also forward incoming port 443 as well (the port used by https). This is a guess of course but it would make sense to me that the camera manufacture might require https if you have to login first to access your camera (via the web).

Also make sure your camera's web server is not using a 'hosts allow' setting. I could well imagine that the web server is initially configured to only allow traffic to it from its local subnet (i.e. 192.168.1.0/24). If this is the case, you will need to refine this setting so that machines out there on the Internet can access it.

Finally, does your friend's browser display any type of error or informational message, when he attempts to access the camera remotely? And is there anything in the camera's web server's log about this.
aprotosimaki is offline  
Old 09-28-2009, 11:44 PM   #15
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Yep....good suggestions.

I'm also going to add that your ISP might block port 80 hosting. Is it possible to move the camera to port 8080 and have your friend access it via http://yourip:8080

You'll have to change your forwarding rules or just leave the cam in the DMZ until you can access it from the outside.

BTW, what is the manufacturer and model of the camera. I'd like to look at their specs....might see something there that would help more.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 05:13 AM   #16
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi all, well camera use http dont redirecting me to https...

Also make sure your camera's web server is not using a 'hosts allow' setting. I could well imagine that the web server is initially configured to only allow traffic to it from its local subnet (i.e. 192.168.1.0/24). If this is the case, you will need to refine this setting so that machines out there on the Internet can access it.

well since Im dont know much about network can you help me out how to do this?


I'm also going to add that your ISP might block port 80 hosting. Is it possible to move the camera to port 8080 and have your friend access it via http://yourip:8080

well Im all ready try 8080 and 10000, but also same problem

My model of IP Cam is Vivotek IP7131.


Thank you again that you helping me out
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 05:33 AM   #17
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

also this is what he get with browser:

Connection Interrupted

The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.

The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection. Please try again.
Danysa is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:19 AM   #18
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sylvania, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,212
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Also make sure that your friend is using the same browser that you're using to access the camera.

I read the spec sheet and it sounds like you've got everything set up correctly for someone from the outside to connect to the cam. I'm not really sure what's going on. With the cameras IP in the DMZ, port forwarding should not be a problem as the DMZ takes that IP and places it in an area where everything about that IP is accessible from an external network. Good idea to try port 10000 since 8080 didn't work. Too bad that didn't fix the issue.

What is the brand/model of your router?
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 12:30 PM   #19
aprotosimaki
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
aprotosimaki is on a distinguished road
Default

There are two things in the manual to check.

1. Page 31: Access List

This is the hosts.allow/hosts.deny settings I was alluding to earlier. You may need to set this.

2. Page 15-16

Make sure it is set to use http.

3. I cannot tell from your previous message whether you can access the camera from your local machine. You still need to perform this check.
aprotosimaki is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 04:03 PM   #20
Danysa
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 13
Danysa is on a distinguished road
Default

Well seems I dont have luck for this...router that I use is:

http://portforward.com/english/route...-A/Portmap.htm

Just want to thank you all for all answers

Dany
Danysa is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 AM.


What Is My IP

Join WhatIsMyIP.com on Facebook Follow WIMI on Twitter

Need IP address location detection service? Get it from IP2Location.com now.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - WhatIsMyIP.comŽ