|
|||||||
| Notices |
| Trace an e-mail This will explain how to trace where an e-mail came from. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4
![]() |
Hello everyone
I have being emailing a person but I am getting a little bit suspcious on a few things and I am wondering if someone here would be able to help me.. I have read the ip search on the hotmail section but this is weird because IP seems to be the same as the person sending me the email and I don't have much understanding of IP's etc that's why I am here to learn a bit more. Is it possible for us to be on the same Internet Service Provider in the same area and have the same ip or am I being duped by someone living in my house using one the pc's. Below is a copy of the email message source with the email addresses xx out. I am just trying to work out if this person is ligit and lives in another area nearby or just playing a sick prank on me? What do you think? Please help shed some light for me ![]() Thanks in advance if you need more info let me know. ~Pure~ X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTE7YT0xO0Q9MDtTQ0w9MA== X-Message-Status: n:0 X-SID-PRA: <xxxx2@hotmail.com> X-SID-Result: Pass X-AUTH-Result: PASS X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jF7PeVvU0Opj3WO8IKtTX/J8L3h7afbidHpSOeor5QVJikx8t0KV8VPTbbH3oopKKj2K0wFb Vy4hfQomziV9skM Received: from col0-omc3-s17.col0.hotmail.com ([65.55.34.156]) by col0-hmmc1-f2.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Sun, 7 Mar 2010 15:29:34 -0800 Received: from COL124-W27 ([65.55.34.136]) by col0-omc3-s17.col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Sun, 7 Mar 2010 15:29:27 -0800 Message-ID: <COL124-W277CC6A0A4F5AE948D1967B3360@phx.gbl> Return-Path: xxxx@hotmail.com Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="_70a88e56-2727-4b0a-9610-ef69a025b6b2_" X-Originating-IP: [121.210.35.242] xxxxxx@hotmail.com> To: <xxxx@hotmail.com> Subject: RE: xxxxx Date: Mon, 8 Mar 2010 09:59:27 +1030 Importance: Normal In-Reply-To: <COL116-W393D744041A9AA05E90916C3360@phx.gbl> References: <COL116-W2791E686D96223902536CDC33A0@phx.gbl>,<COL124-W618052699C878BB40C5C4BB3390@phx.gbl>,<COL116-W4ED491B3FACE4B7732A58C3390@phx.gbl>,<COL124-W40ACC36E0BD32C13C61DB2B3360@phx.gbl>,<COL116-W393D744041A9AA05E90916C3360@phx.gbl> MIME-Version: 1.0 X-OriginalArrivalTime: 07 Mar 2010 23:29:27.0720 (UTC) FILETIME=[0791C280:01CABE4E] --_70a88e56-2727-4b0a-9610-ef69a025b6b2_ Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1" Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Administrator
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pigeon Forge, TN
Posts: 858
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Here's the originating source for this particular header.
X-Originating-IP: [121.210.35.242] The IP you posted from is the same so it's either someone in your house duping you or the sender has spoofed your IP address. My guess.....it's someone in your house. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4
![]() |
Thanks for replying.
That is what I was thinking to and I actually mentioned it to someone and they tried to get technical on me.Thanks for clearing that up for me. ~Pure~ |
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|