What Is My IP Address? - IP Address Lookup, Bandwidth Speed Test, IP Info, plus more

Go Back   What Is My IP Forum > How do I... > Trace an e-mail

Notices

Trace an e-mail This will explain how to trace where an e-mail came from.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 11:37 PM   #1
~Pure~
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4
~Pure~ is on a distinguished road
Default Suspcious on email.

Hello everyone

I have being emailing a person but I am getting a little bit suspcious on a few things and I am wondering if someone here would be able to help me..

I have read the ip search on the hotmail section but this is weird because IP seems to be the same as the person sending me the email and I don't have much understanding of IP's etc that's why I am here to learn a bit more. Is it possible for us to be on the same Internet Service Provider in the same area and have the same ip or am I being duped by someone living in my house using one the pc's.
Below is a copy of the email message source with the email addresses xx out.

I am just trying to work out if this person is ligit and lives in another area nearby or just playing a sick prank on me? What do you think? Please help shed some light for me

Thanks in advance if you need more info let me know.

~Pure~





X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTE7YT0xO0Q9MDtTQ0w9MA==

X-Message-Status: n:0

X-SID-PRA: <xxxx2@hotmail.com>

X-SID-Result: Pass

X-AUTH-Result: PASS

X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jF7PeVvU0Opj3WO8IKtTX/J8L3h7afbidHpSOeor5QVJikx8t0KV8VPTbbH3oopKKj2K0wFb Vy4hfQomziV9skM

Received: from col0-omc3-s17.col0.hotmail.com ([65.55.34.156]) by col0-hmmc1-f2.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);

Sun, 7 Mar 2010 15:29:34 -0800

Received: from COL124-W27 ([65.55.34.136]) by col0-omc3-s17.col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);

Sun, 7 Mar 2010 15:29:27 -0800

Message-ID: <COL124-W277CC6A0A4F5AE948D1967B3360@phx.gbl>

Return-Path: xxxx@hotmail.com

Content-Type: multipart/alternative;

boundary="_70a88e56-2727-4b0a-9610-ef69a025b6b2_"

X-Originating-IP: [121.210.35.242]
xxxxxx@hotmail.com>

To: <xxxx@hotmail.com>

Subject: RE: xxxxx

Date: Mon, 8 Mar 2010 09:59:27 +1030

Importance: Normal

In-Reply-To: <COL116-W393D744041A9AA05E90916C3360@phx.gbl>

References:

<COL116-W2791E686D96223902536CDC33A0@phx.gbl>,<COL124-W618052699C878BB40C5C4BB3390@phx.gbl>,<COL116-W4ED491B3FACE4B7732A58C3390@phx.gbl>,<COL124-W40ACC36E0BD32C13C61DB2B3360@phx.gbl>,<COL116-W393D744041A9AA05E90916C3360@phx.gbl>

MIME-Version: 1.0

X-OriginalArrivalTime: 07 Mar 2010 23:29:27.0720 (UTC) FILETIME=[0791C280:01CABE4E]



--_70a88e56-2727-4b0a-9610-ef69a025b6b2_

Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
~Pure~ is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 12:19 AM   #2
wimiadmin
Administrator
 
wimiadmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pigeon Forge, TN
Posts: 858
wimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to beholdwimiadmin is a splendid one to behold
Default

Here's the originating source for this particular header.

X-Originating-IP: [121.210.35.242]

The IP you posted from is the same so it's either someone in your house duping you or the sender has spoofed your IP address.

My guess.....it's someone in your house.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
wimiadmin is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 12:51 AM   #3
~Pure~
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4
~Pure~ is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for replying. That is what I was thinking to and I actually mentioned it to someone and they tried to get technical on me.

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

~Pure~
~Pure~ is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 PM.


What Is My IP - IP Command Lines - What is an IP Address - Speed Test - IP Address FAQ

Need IP address location detection service? Get it from IP2Location.com now.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - WhatIsMyIP.com