What Is My IP Address? - IP Address Lookup, Bandwidth Speed Test, IP Info, plus more

Go Back   What Is My IP Forum > How do I... > Trace an e-mail

Notices


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2009, 01:18 PM
jollygreenxxx jollygreenxxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default Is he from Portugal Or Thailand?

Im trying to track down the location of this sender. He tells me he is currently in Portugal, though originally I thought he was in Thailand.

When I send a email to myself through hotmail, a originating ip comes up. When I look at the info from his email no originating ip comes up. There is a ip that shows Bangkok.

His he telling me the truth and he is currently living in portugal, or is he really in Thailand? Or is there no real way of telling?

Thanks for your help






X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7RD0wO2w9MQ==

X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jEHjJx36Oi8+Z3TmmkSEdPt3Mi6GgUSv7yYKHQgGf De+2wCW4LegkYQav29Pp7Mm4E=

Received: from n9.bullet.re3.yahoo.com ([68.142.237.94]) by col0-mc2-f20.Col0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);

Sat, 22 Aug 2009 21:47:55 -0700

Received: from [68.142.237.90] by n9.bullet.re3.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 23 Aug 2009 04:47:54 -0000

Received: from [66.196.101.130] by t6.bullet.re3.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 23 Aug 2009 04:47:54 -0000

Received: from [127.0.0.1] by rrr1.mail.re1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 23 Aug 2009 04:47:54 -0000

X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3

X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 183925.27910.bm@rrr1.mail.re1.yahoo.com

Received: (qmail 54887 invoked by uid 60001); 23 Aug 2009 04:47:53 -0000

DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=yahoo.co.uk; s=s1024; t=1251002873; bh=R+e6UHkqDNFAPJBhT8ld8JSWaTrFnvZV4RzbH3X8lsI=; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailerate:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=GT/Xw08DaZN/R6++qPJskbsOHDqejCPyg/wOhnTPETa9qc1H508+Z521zTefIjdaGlO5g6Yw8y+/3P9uMgjAME12TIr0RDm5H2dB3d/+2PFDvHUaEafJEZ+D2p4m4ymx7ZaBBP8mHvH9eX3ro7VoqzMzz ouLk3ggI7H9qRkGd50=

DomainKey-Signature:a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;

s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk;

h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailerate:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type;

b=qe8Iqdjub72NWmNLn3jWuDuK1/8BJVhKPVvl4tuNHOEltLHQNbI1sP1byFIYjHp7oKWOYuJnbRFB f/ekvm3Mk1UAtd8a6NfJ8mHY+GW1ScsZUk9toe4CTCs0XxalAxPU KrEzXo79LLR/X4yuzBdJb9VdyxFvabLgRagI7+BQI64=;

Message-ID: <309618.53820.qm@web23107.mail.ird.yahoo.com>

X-YMail-OSG: v6KuzyoVM1nG7Y0QjjK96ukKlehRkqsjwOY3xu.0ls.DOnafhB PvoxxCzcHGIYxGAZF00HV25nVjAz7RkU7Thdo60i3ljW_m5jI5 mqEAYzHmRkBOdnJTxCdYDSQkLbU.gEBfKKhLPjjFCjsDNlGhsZ i.FM_TiuZ61yOg5jsUgOOVqXx7RENejk_PDrmajuHZPEuw_XvN 6Gh3g1XhkZCApG99o0cR1KMX3U_toKlWgoFZDHFpxzn0lztHeB MVnezSA8nSxnVdN2QHJd_lvC3S9VYBrNwEboOJHxwilItvRJ48 AzD1hOfUPTxq0tzEHyjeQ7mjjYRzX5QCdvQ66p0QCT4H_lWGe_ EB118-

Received: from [58.8.146.148] by web23107.mail.ird.yahoo.com via HTTP; Sun, 23 Aug 2009 04:47:52 GMT

X-Mailer: YahooMailClassic/6.1.2 YahooMailWebService/0.7.338.2

Date: Sun, 23 Aug 2009 04:47:52 +0000 (GMT)

From: J***** <*****@yahoo.co.uk>

Subject: RE: hey

To: d** n** <*********@hotmail.com>

In-Reply-To: <BLU118-W199967B66F9CF8F28327518AFC0@phx.gbl>

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-169624419-1251002872=:53820"

Return-Path: ********@yahoo.co.uk

X-OriginalArrivalTime: 23 Aug 2009 04:47:55.0190 (UTC) FILETIME=[E1218D60:01CA23AC]
  #2  
Old 08-23-2009, 02:05 PM
wimiadmin's Avatar
wimiadmin wimiadmin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pigeon Forge, TN
Posts: 733
Default

The first IP in the header is 68.142.237.94 and it traces to California....which is probably the Yahoo servers.

However, deep down in the email header, you'll see 58.8.146.148. That IP traces to Bangkok.

I'd say the person you received the email from is in Bangkok.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
  #3  
Old 08-23-2009, 05:39 PM
jollygreenxxx jollygreenxxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

yeah i thought that might have been the case.

when looking into that ip. I find the following info. Is there any way of giving me a better idea in thailand he may be. im aware ips dont pin point the location.

He only emails once a day so i get the feeling he may be at work or a internet cafe. If he had the net at home I feel he may reply quicker or send more than one a day.

Thanks






General Information

Hostname:

ppp-58-8-146-148.revip2.asianet.co.th

ISP: True Internet Co.

Organization: True Internet Co.

Proxy: None detected

Type: Dial-up


Geo-Location Information

Country: Thailand
State/Region: 40
City: Bangkok
Latitude: 13.75
Longitude: 100.5167
Area Code:
  #4  
Old 08-23-2009, 07:50 PM
wimiadmin's Avatar
wimiadmin wimiadmin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pigeon Forge, TN
Posts: 733
Default

I did a Google on the IP 58.8.146.148 and the results of the pages were mostly Thai. Perhaps you could browse through those pages and if they all point to one place then this might be his location.

Other than that, I don't think there's a source that will pinpoint his exact location yet. I'm sure it'll be available one day though...but until then, you'll have to play detective.

With him only emailing you once per day, I'd guess the same thing that he doesn't have internet at home and he's emailing you from work or an internet cafe.
__________________
Brian
Please Search Before Posting
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.


What Is My IP - IP Command Lines - What is an IP Address - Speed Test - IP Address FAQ

Need IP address location detection service? Get it from IP2Location.com now.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - WhatIsMyIP.com